Domestic assault charges in Minnesota are very complicated and stressful. The accused has to deal with the charges against them while family members have to stand by and watch this happen to somebody they love. Domestic assault charges are also difficult for those making the accusations.
Nonetheless, there are many times in which domestic assault charges are based on false accusations. Oftentimes, people are charged with domestic assault after trying to defend themselves from the real attacker. At Poole Law Office PLLC we understand there are two sides to every story. Our assault lawyer has handled numerous domestic assault cases and will aggressively handle your matter. To learn more about how we can help you, call us at 218-461-0247, contact us today and schedule your free consultation.
Minnesota Assault and Domestic Assault Penalties
If convicted of an assault or domestic assault charge, a defendant can face between 90 days in jail to 20 years in prison, depending on the severity level of the alleged offense. In Minnesota, there are six different assault and domestic assault charges:
- First-Degree Assault (maximum of 20 years imprisonment and/or a $30,000 fine)
- Second-Degree Assault (maximum of 7 years imprisonment and/or a $14,000 fine)
- Third-Degree Assault (maximum of 5 years imprisonment and/or a $10,000 fine)
- Fourth-Degree Assault (maximum of 1 year in jail and/or a $3,000 fine)
- Fifth-Degree Assault (maximum of 90 days in jail and/or a $1,000)
- Domestic Assault (maximum of 90 days in jail and/or a $1,000 fine)
Factors increasing these maximum sentences include:
- Whether an alleged incident involves the use of a weapon, such as a gun or knife
- Whether there was substantial bodily harm to the alleged victim
- Whether the defendant has prior assault or domestic assault convictions
Minnesota Statute § 634.20
Domestic assault can be more difficult to defend against than normal assaults because under Minnesota Statute § 634.20, the prosecutor can (and will) attempt to admit as evidence against you every prior act of assault against the alleged victim, whether or not it is actually proven, and even if you are not standing trial for those alleged past acts. As a result, it is critical you are represented by a Duluth criminal lawyer who will aggressively defend you and ensure the process is fair.
Strangulation and Duluth Assault Lawyer
The law describes strangulation as the act of intentionally impeding the normal circulation of blood or normal breathing of an individual by applying pressure to the neck or throat or by blocking the nose or mouth of a household member. A person convicted of domestic strangulation will be imprisoned for up to 3 years and/or pay fines of up to $5,000. If you are charged with domestic strangulation, you will need to contact your Duluth domestic assault lawyer as soon as possible to ensure your rights are protected and to defend you every step of the way.
Contact a Domestic Assault Lawyer and Duluth Criminal Defense Attorney
If you have been charged with domestic assault, understand that you are not alone in your case. When you hire At Poole Law Office PLLC, our criminal defense lawyer will do everything possible to ensure the best outcome in your case. To find out more about how we can help you, schedule your free consultation by calling us at 218-461-0247, or filling out our contact form so someone from our office can contact you immediately about your case.
Poole Law Office PLLC also practices in the areas of Criminal Defense, DWI / DUI, Divorce, and Bankruptcy.
(The content on this page is for informational purposes only, shall not be used as legal advice, and is absolutely no substitute for contacting an attorney for help)